• Premium
  • Standard Compliant Channels
  • $100
  • Completely synergize resource taxing relationships via premier market
  • 10 GB of space
  • Support at $15/hour
  • Sign Up

The Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities in Africa (African Disability Rights Protocol) was adopted on 30 January 2018 by the African Union Heads of States.

The African Disability Protocol is the culmination of the African Union’s efforts to create a framework to safeguard the human rights of persons with disabilities on the continent.

States that have not ratified the Protocol
52 African states have not ratified the African Disability Protocol
States that have signed the Protocol
11 African states have signed the African Disability Protocol
States that have ratified the Protocol
3 African states have ratified the African Disability Protocol

The Protocol has not yet attained the 15 ratifications required for it to come into force. To date the Protocol has been signed but not ratified by Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Gabon, Mali, Rwanda, South Africa and Togo.

The Centre for Human Rights calls on all Africans, especially stakeholders to advocate, campaign and ensure that the Protocol is ratified by all the 55 members of the African Union.


#RatifyADRP: Call on African leaders to ratify the African Disability Rights Protocol