Christof Heyns In Memoriam 1959-2021Pages from Christof Heyns In Memoriam web version

This book is dedicated to the memory and legacy of Professor Christof Heyns 

It was compiled by the Centre for Human Rights and the Faculty of Law, University of Pretoria, to honour the memory of Christof Heyns at an event on 15 November 2021 where a tree was planted at the Institute for International and Comparative Law in Africa on the Hatfield Campus at the University of Pretoria.

Edited and designed by Yolanda BooyzenPrinted by Minit Print Hatfield, Pretoria, South Africa

In memory of Christof Heyns

Download In memory of Christof Heyns

About the Christof Heyns Human Rights Scholarship

Applications are invited for the award of the first Christof Heyns Human Rights Scholarship. Applications are open to current or prospective doctoral candidates studying towards a doctoral degree in human rights at the University of Pretoria.The Scholarship is for study in 2022. Enquiries related to the scholarship can be directed to carole.viljoen@up.ac.za.

Download Call for Applications 

Christof Heyns African Human Rights Moot Court Competition

The Moot Court Competition will in future be known as the ‘Christof Heyns African Human Rights Moot Court Competition’. Professor Tawana Kupe, Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the University of Pretoria, who presided over the renaming, explained that the renaming was in memory and recognition of Christof’s role the as the Moot’s founding father and sustaining driving force over many decades”.

Read More

Christof Heyns Memorial Thesis Award

The Memorial Thesis Award was introduced to honour the memory of the late Professor Christof Heyns, who passed away in March 2021. Professor Heyns was a founder of the Pretoria University Law Press and took the initiative towards the introduction of this prize. This prize underlines his exceptional passion for promoting scholarship and a life devoted to initiating innovative ideas to make the world a better place for all. There can be no better way to begin to recognise the enormous contribution that Professor Heyns has made to advancing scholarship, research and publication in Africa, by Africans and on Africa. 

The prize was awarded based on the assessment of a panel consisting of Professor Hennie Strydom, University of Johannesburg (Convener), Professor Johanna Botha, Nelson Mandela University, Port Elizabeth and Professor Solomon Ebrobrah, Niger Delta University, Nigeria. The criteria used by the panel include the inherent quality of the research, as well as the relevance of the topic to African challenges and the originality of the approach.

Tree planting ceremony in honour of Prof Christoff Heyns


 Subscribe to our newsletter