The Centre for Human Rights, in collaboration with the University of Nairobi is hosting the 23rd edition of the African Human Rights Moot Court competition.

This year, the competition will run from 1-6 September and is held in Nairobi, Kenya.

During the second and third day of the competition, student teams from various universities on the continent argue a hypothetical case before a panel of judges.

This year, due to the smaller number of teams that were registered, there will only be 2 Anglophone and 2 Francophone teams in the final. There will not be any Lusophone teams arguing in the final round.

 The finalists were announced on 3 September after the results were verified by an independent auditor. The finalists to appear in the final round on 6 September 2014 are:


  • University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • Université Gaston Berger Saint-Louis du Sénégal


  • University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Université Félix Houphouët-Boigny, Côte d'Ivoire

The judges in the final round of the 23rd African Human Rights Moot Court Competition are:

  • Commissioner Zainabo Sylvie Kayitesi 
    Chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights
  • Justice Johann Kriegler 
    (South Africa)
    Former Judge, Constitutionnal Court of South Africa
  • Dr David Padilla 
    (United States Of America)
    Former Assistant Executive Secretary of the Inter American Commission on Human Rights
  • Justice Willy Mutunga 
    Chief Justice of Kenya, President of the Supreme Court of Kenya
  • Justice Elsie Thompson 
    Judge of the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights

The final round will take place at Kenyatta International Conference Centre in Nairobi, Kenya.


 Subscribe to our newsletter