The 2020 African Human Rights Moot Court Competition was officially launched on 6 December 2019, when the Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the University of Pretoria, Prof Tawana Kupe, signed the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the three partner universities. 

2020 ahrmc launch

From left to right: Dr Nkatha Murungi (Assistant Director, Centre for Human Rights), Prof Frans Viljoen (Director, Centre for Human Rights), Prof Tawana Kupe (Vice Chancellor and Principal, University of Pretoria); Prof Elsabe Schoeman (Dean, Faculty of Law, University of Pretoria) and Yusuf Sayaad (African Moot Court Competition Coordinator).  

As in the past, the Centre for Human Rights at the University of Pretoria collaborates with partners in organising this landmark event. The 29th edition of the African Human Rights Moot Court Competition will take place from 3 to 8 August 2020, in Dakar, Senegal. For the first time in the 29 year-old-history of the competition, the Moot will be co-hosted by two universities – Université Virtuelle de Senegal and Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar — in conjunction with the Centre for Human Rights. 

Following the signature of the MOU by the host institutions on 18 October 2019, in Dakar, Prof Kupe co-signed the MOU at the University of Pretoria on 6 December 2019. The signing ceremony was attended by the newly appointed Dean of the Faculty of Law, Prof Elsabe Schoeman; Prof Frans Viljoen, Director of the Centre for Human Rights; Dr Nkatha Murungi, Assistant Director of the Centre; and Sayaad Yusuf, the Moot programme manager.  

The signing of the MOU marks the official launch of the 29th edition of the African Human Rights Moot Court Competition.

For more information, please contact:

Yusuf Sayaad
Project Coordinator
African Human Rights Moot Court Competition


 Subscribe to our newsletter