Kenyatta University School of Law and Stellenbosch University Faculty of Law have progressed as the top 2 English-language teams to the final round of the 30th edition of the African Human Rights Moot Court Competition being held in Stellenbosch, South Africa. They join the law schools of the Université Félix Houphouët-Boigny, Cocody, Côte d’Ivoire, as the top French-language team and the Universidade Eduardo Mondlane, Mozambique, the top Portuguese-language team during the preliminary rounds.

Following online preliminary rounds, 14 African Universities proceeded to the quarter and semi-final rounds.  The hypothetical case being argued focuses on sexual and gender-based violence, child rights and rights of sexual minorities.

The four finalist teams have been reconfigured into two new combined teams with one anglophone and one francophone on one side (Kenyatta University and Université Félix Houphouët-Boigny), and one anglophone and one lusophone team (Stellenbosch University and Universidade Eduardo Mondlane, Mozambique) on the other. The two reconfigured teams are working together to overcome the artificial colonial divide of language and legal traditions.

The final round will take place on Friday 24 September 2021 will start at 10:00 (SAST/CAT) and can be streamed online.

Simultaneous interpretation will be provided during the finals that will be adjudicated by eminent jurists from the continent and other jurisdictions, including Professor Thuli Madonsela, the previous South African Public Protector, Dr Solomon Dersso, the Chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights and Justice Matusse, previously a Judge of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

This year’s African Human Rights Moot Court Competition is hosted by the Stellenbosch University, Faculty of Law. The event coincides with the 100-year celebration of the Faculty of Law, and 35 years since the founding of the Centre for Human Rights. 

For more information, please contact:

Project Coordinator: African Human Rights Moot Court

 Tel: +27 (0) 12 420 4841

Dr Pie Habimana
Chair, UR Organising Committee



 Subscribe to our newsletter