On September the 19th 2022, the Centre for Human Rights Migration Unit hosted a High-level Experts Forum on Durable Solutions to Protracted Displacement in Africa. The Forum engaged experts from various universities in Africa, the office of the United Nations Commissioner for Refugees, Ethiopian Human Rights Commission and rights organisations in Africa.

Prof Frans Viljoen, Director of the Centre, and Mr Lloyd Kuveya, Assistant Director (Operations) of the Centre, welcomed participants to the forum. Advocate Bahame Tom Nyanduga (former Commissioner of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, and Special Rapporteur on Refugees, Asylum Seekers, and Migrants) and Rakeb Messele Aberra (Deputy Chief Commissioner of the Ethiopian Human Rights Commission) made keynote addresses.

Participants presented policy papers which addressed conceptual issues relating to durable solutions to forced displacement due to conflict, generalised violence, development projects, climate change and natural disasters in Africa. One of their key recommendations was that the prevention of forced displacement, both within and across national boundaries, should be regarded as a durable solution. They also addressed crucial issues in media coverage and advocacy strategies, and the role of national human rights institutions (NHRIs) in promoting human rights-based durable solutions for internally displaced people (IDPs).

Manager of the Children’s Rights Unit of Centre Dr Elvis Fokala, moderated a panel discussion on durable solutions for forcibly displaced women, children, stateless persons and gender minorities. This discussion focussed on why and how durable solutions should specifically address these specific groups. Prof Viljoen also moderated the deliberation on the draft ‘Future Africa Declaration on Durable Solutions to Protracted Displacement in Africa’. The draft Declaration was subsequently adopted by the Forum of Experts.

Participants of the Forum include Commissioner Rakeb Messele Aberra, Adv. Commissioner Bahame Tom Nyanduga, Mr Lloyd Kuveya, Mr Abiy Ashenafi, Dr Elvis Fokala, Dr Samuel Woldemariam, Dr Cristiano d’Orsi, Dr Norman Pinduka, Ms Mumbi Gichuhi, Ms Ivy Shiechelo, Dr Callixte Kavuro, Mr Fikire Tinsae Birhane, Mr Opeyemi Adewale, Ms Ruwadzano Patience Makumbe, Prof Olajumoke Yacob-Haliso, Dr Ayodele Sogunro, Dr Charissa Fawole, Dr Michael Addaney, Ms Liesl Muller, Ms Enguday Meskele Ashine, Mr Jimmy Kainja, Ms Omotunde Enigbokan, Ms Patience M Nyaruwanga, and Martin Mande and others


 Subscribe to our newsletter