To honour the memory of our colleague whose untimely death on 28 March 2021 has been an incalculable loss not just to the University of Pretoria and academia at large, but particularly to us at the Pretoria University Law Press (PULP), we have decided to rename what was previously announced as the “Pretoria University Law Press Thesis Prize” as the “Christof Heyns Memorial Thesis Award.”

Download Press Statement

The late Professor Christof Heyns was not only instrumental in the establishment of PULP but was the brain behind this thesis prize. This prize underlines his exceptional passion for promoting scholarship and a life devoted to initiating innovative ideas to make the world a better place for all. There can be no better way to begin to recognise the enormous contribution that Professor Heyns has made.

We are also pleased to announce that 16 doctoral theses from all over Africa were submitted for this prize. The PULP editorial committee has appointed Professor Hennie Strydom, Research Professor and holder of the South African Research (SARCHi) Chair in international law at the University of Johannesburg as the chairperson of the panel of experts who will review and determine the winner of this prize. In accordance with the rules governing this Award, Professor Strydom will identify the other two panel members.

The winner of this inaugural Christof Heyns Memorial Award will be announced in October 2021.

The winning thesis will be published as a PULP monograph.

For more information, please contact: 

Professor Charles Fombad (he/him)
Professor of Law
Tel: +27 (0) 12 420 4397
Fax: +27 (0) 86 580 5743


 Subscribe to our newsletter