The combined team of the law schools of the Université Félix Houphouët-Boigny, Cocody, Côte d’Ivoire, and Kenyatta University, Kenya, appearing as the applicants, emerged as the winners of the 30th African Human Rights Moot Court Competition, held on 24 September 2021 at Stellenbosch University, Faculty of Law. The runner-up is the combined team of Universidade Eduardo Mondlane, Mozambique, and Stellenbosch University. 

This year’s African Human Rights Moot Court Competition was hosted by the Stellenbosch University, Faculty of Law. The event coincided with the 100-year celebration of the Faculty of Law, and 35 years since the founding of the Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria.  The Centre annually co-organises the Moot together with a faculty of law at an African university. Over its 30-year history, the African Moot Court Competition has taken place in 19 different African countries, with 175 universities participating. One university – Université Assane Seck, Zuiganchor, Senegal, participated for the first time in 2021

Preliminary round awards

During the final round, the following prize winners of the preliminary rounds were also announced: 

Best memorials during Portuguese-language preliminary rounds

  1. Universidade Eduardo Mondlane

Best memorials during French-language preliminary rounds 

  1. Université Félix Houphouët-Boigny
  2. Université Virtuelle du Senegal 

Best memorials during English-language preliminary rounds 

  1. Africa Nazarene University 
  2. University of Pretoria
  3. Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana

Best oralist during Portuguese-language during preliminary rounds 

  1. Sra Idanes Pessuro (Universidade Eduardo Mondlane)

Best oralist during French language preliminary rounds 

  1. Nanlehe Coulibaly (Université Félix Houphouët-Boigny
  2. Cheickna Sylla (Institut Universitaire d’Abidjan, Senegal) 
  3. N’guessan Kouame (Université Félix Houphouët-Boigny)

Best oralist during English-language preliminary rounds 

  1. Dorcas Ameonu (University of Ghana)
  2. Lazola Nomkala (University of the Western Cape) 
  3. Mweyongyere Kabasinguzi (Makerere)






 Subscribe to our newsletter